The Bug Geek

Insects. Doing Science. Other awesome, geeky stuff.

A sunlit spider

A spider of, I think, the family Tetragnathidae: the long-jawed orb weavers.  I’m basing this primarily on very basic morphology as well as behaviour I observed…at one point, it rested by flattening itself on the branch, extending its long, slender legs both anteriorly and posteriorly.   This behaviour is apparently common to the family.  Pretty, delicate and quite active on this warm(ish), sunny day.

Edited to add: Spider guy in my lab confirmed it as a Tetragnathid!

8 responses to “A sunlit spider

  1. christie March 2, 2010 at 7:43 PM

    I love this photo. Aren’t spiders gorgeous?

  2. Ted C. MacRae March 2, 2010 at 11:11 PM

    Tsk tsk – admitting the spiders ick you out!? And you want to be Dr. Bug? 🙂

    • TGIQ March 2, 2010 at 11:43 PM

      I’ll have you know that spiders are NOT the same as insects, not the same thing at all. Perfectly reasonable to be icked…extra pair of legs and all that icky stuff. 😛

  3. jason March 3, 2010 at 11:45 AM

    Very nice shot! It’s rather captivating–and feels warm.

    And I have to second Ted’s remark despite you splitting setae about spiders not being insects.

Leave a comment