The Bug Geek

Insects. Doing Science. Other awesome, geeky stuff.

Calligraphy

This is one of my favourite late-summer/autumn beetles…

Calligrapha vicina.  Beautiful ink-black inscriptions on an ivory shell; a living work of art.

I’m always happy to come across one of these gems, usually amidst a backdrop of scarlet dogwood stems.

7 responses to “Calligraphy

  1. Ted C. MacRae October 27, 2010 at 7:45 PM

    Calligrapha spp. rock. There is one here in Missouri (C. spireae, I think) that is found on ninebark (Physocarpos opulifolius) – looks a lot like this one but has blushes of red/pind on the elytra. I’ll have to look for it in the spring and put up some photographs.

    Do I see an AIF submission? 🙂

  2. mthew October 29, 2010 at 5:54 PM

    Wow. That’s a beetle’s beetle.

  3. Pingback: Information exchange (and stuff, too) via social media « The Bug Geek

Leave a comment