The Bug Geek

Insects. Doing Science. Other awesome, geeky stuff.

See ya, 2010…

All right, all right, I give.  2010 is tout fini and the holidays are over (wah!).  Tomorrow marks the start of the new term; I’m teaching and have coursework of my own. 

I consider 2010 to be my first “real” year of blogging; though I have dabbled since ’09 it wasn’t until last January that I felt the pieces pulling together and then sat back and watched this little speck of the blogosphere grow into something a little more cohesive (though perhaps still just as rambly).  I’ve thoroughly enjoyed working on posts, taking pictures, and sharing my interests with you.  In fact, you, my readers, are the most surprising and wonderful thing to have developed out of this hobby of mine; I never imagined that I would find a home among a group of such interesting, intelligent and talented scientists, naturalists, and outdoorsy-types.  I value your readership, your comments, your insights: thank you.

Now I’m going to indulge in a bit of copy-cattery (a sign of flattery!): some of you have been doing different versions of  “2010 in Review” posts, and I’m diggin’ it.  So here is my version.  See ya, 2010!

Some blog stats

Visitors in 2010: 18,965 (!!!)

Most Visited Post:  Goldenrod gall fly 

My Favourite Post: Crocodile!

Best Search Engine Terms: this was a toss-up between “dork dweeb nerd” and “Spider in Canada that is black and white and has thorn looking things on legs”.  Sorta sums this whole blog right up, those.

Favourite Photographs

Best Adult Beetle Photo

Best Larva Photo

Best Other Insect Photo

Best Non-insect Arthropod Photo

Best Mammal Photo

Best Bird Photo

Best Plant Photo

As I’ve searched through my posts from the past year, I’ve realized that I’ve got a ton of other photos tucked away that never made it on the blog.  I think I’m going to start a weekly feature (Foto Friday? Wordless Wednesday? Something along those lines) where I just post some of my favourite pics without worrying so much about accompanying text; it’ll be a nice project for the winter months.

Anyways, here’s to 2011!  I wish you all an exciting and fulfilling year!

8 responses to “See ya, 2010…

  1. Ted C. MacRae January 4, 2011 at 11:03 AM

    Nice end-of-year recap. That pileated woodpecker shot is still the schnitz!

  2. biobabbler January 4, 2011 at 11:09 AM

    Wow. GREAT end of 2010 post and I totally agree with TCM. I’d date a pileated in a heartbeat [but a) I’m married and b) I’m really probably not their type]. Fun blog factoids. Happy 2011! FYI, “adult beetle photo” sounds a wee bit racy….

  3. dang January 5, 2011 at 12:18 AM

    Yes, a very nice recap. Great photo of the red-headed pecker, and add that’s quite a worm in the mouth (or whatever it is). 🙂 Have a great 2011, appears to be starting with a bang! scratching head and wondering what search will do with that!.

  4. jason January 5, 2011 at 6:41 AM

    I always loved those woodpecker shots. What a beautiful bird! And captured so expertly.

    It was definitely a good year for you, C. Here’s looking forward to an exceptional 2011!

Leave a comment